Eye Shadow Primer Showdown.

Processed with Rookie

If you read my blog, then you know how obsessed I am with primers- especially ones for eye shadow. If you’re going to splurge on nice shadows, it only makes sense to do the same on the perfect primer! Here, I will go over six of my favorites, drugstore and high end, and show you why they’re so awesome. I swatched each primer using loose shadows to really emphasize the importance of priming and subjected each to a ‘rub test’. Please click images to view larger.

First up we have the ELF Eyelid Primer:

Processed with Rookie

The ELF Eyelid Primer retails for $1 at Target! It’s definitely a steal at that price, but as you can see- it’s not the best of the bunch after the rub test. I swatched this using the ULTA Color Pure Eye Shadow Pigment in ‘Riviera’ ($8 at ULTA).

Next, we have Hard Candy Eye Shadow Primer:

Processed with Rookie

The Hard Candy Eye Shadow Primer retails for $5 at Walmart. For this price and the amount of product you get, it’s uneatable. Even after the rub test, it still pulls through. I swatched this using the Napoleon Perdis Loose Eye Dust in ‘Pink Champagne’ ($25 on the website).

Next, Pur Minerals Cease Crease Eye Shadow Primer:

Processed with Rookie

Pur Minerals Cease Crease Eye Shadow Primer retails for $18 at ULTA. This primer works fabulously and still looks great after the rub down. I swatched this using ULTA Color Pure Eye Shadow Pigment in ‘Sepia’ ($8 at ULTA).

Next, we have Too Faced Shadow Insurance:

Processed with Rookie

Too Faced Shadow Insurance retails for $18 at ULTA. This primer is bulletproof! As you can see, there’s barely a difference post rub test. I swatched this using ULTA Color Pure Loose Eye Shadow in ‘Mesa’ ($8 at ULTA).

Next up, Lorac Behind the Scenes Eye Shadow Primer:

Processed with Rookie

Lorac’s Behind the Scenes retails for $21 at ULTA. This is another great primer choice, it’s just a bit more pricey that the others. You will come home looking like you freshly applied your shadow, that’s for sure. I swatched this using ULTA Color Pure Loose Eye Shadow in ‘Henna’ ($8 at ULTA).

And finally, the holy grail, Urban Decay Original Primer Potion:

Processed with Rookie

Urban Decay Primer Potion retails for $20 at ULTA. This primer is the one that made me see the light- as you can see, it’s completely unchanged by direct rubbing! Now that’s how to stay flawless. I’ve been using this since high school and won’t ever stop. It comes in four varieties including an anti-aging formula and lasts forever before you’ll run out. I swatched this using Napoleon Perdis Loose Eye Dust in ‘Star Light’ ($25 on the website).

The moral of the story here, is that you get what you pay for. It may seem crazy to spend twenty or more on a primer, but I promise it really is worth it. Most shadows won’t show their true potential without one! They also cut down on fallout, color transferring and smearing, and some even come with skin care benefits. That’s a win in my book.

If you like the ULTA shadows I swatched- they’re on sale until November 29th for $5 each, and they make fabulous stocking stuffers! They are nearly exact, in terms of quality, to the high end Napoleon ones- and you get a ton of product. Hope this helped lovelies! Stay tuned- I’m posting my Vice 3 looks tomorrow! 🙂

xxx&o Megan

9 thoughts on “Eye Shadow Primer Showdown.”

Leave a comment